top of page

Milquetoast (Caterwaul)

Crank this to 8.4 of 11

Released: 2022

Genre: Noise rock, Punk

Sounds Like: Pissed Jeans, Indian Handcrafts, Dead Kennedy's

Homeland: Indiana


Album Overview

  • The debut album from Indiana's punk noise trio is a dose of unapologetic chaotic punk

  • Caterwaul is more than your typical noise punk album. The band often breaks this mold and throw in some grinding sludge, just check out Stoner Safari and Space Force

  • The vocals of Ty and Andy are raw and a bit rough, which is perfect for this style of heaviness

  • It's odd how sometimes the vocals feel like they are off key to the music, but it somehow works, kind of how Matt Korvette of Pissed Jeans just does his own thing

  • Milquetoast throw a boatload of energy into this album and have a wide appeal to people who love to explore the heavy. Fans of punk, noise, stoner and even sludge will gravitate to this album


Track Listing:

1. Intro :33

2. Dead Inside 2:35

3. Recognize 4:30

4. Matapacos 2:42

5. Stoner Safari 4:50

6. Step Off 3:34

7. Space Force 4:25

8. Fake News Blues 3:18

9. Wall 3:25

10. Forgotten Death 4:46


Standout Track(s)

Space Force

Man this song is all over the map. At first it feels a bit cheesy with the "space force" lyrics, but stick with it. The song begins with a surprising surf rock feel then melts into some psychedelic sludge trip, an amazing turn of events. Then with about a minute left we are treated to some thrashy sludge to end.


Brew Pairing

Grab some Rezolute IPA by Michigan based Drafting Table Brewing Company. This 7.7% IPA is brewed with a melody of Pacific Northwest hops with aromas of pine and flavors of citrus with a very hoppy feel. A great pairing with Caterwaul.

Milquetoast are:

Ty - guitar and vocals

Andy - bass, vocals and synth

Nick - drums

Follow Milquetoast: Bandcamp / Facebook


Related Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Album of the Month
Hiking Lung

Song of the Week

bottom of page